Personal space for a 7 year old.

This I had written almost a year back……sharing it now.

Yesterday Ram told me, “Aai, you are so nice, you give me so much space.”

Hugh?! Ram, aged not even 7 yrs, talking about space. smileCute……smileI was sure he is blindly cutting and pasting the line, probably from myself.  You see, I use this   famous I NEED MY SPACE” dialogue often.

Anyways, so hereI think, he really doesn’t understand the concept, so I ask him, making a silly baby face, “Is it baby?! How?” and Ram very seriously elaborates………..”see, when I don’t want to dance during Ganapati, every one was forcing me, and other children, but you didn’t. When i want to sleep alone in the play pen, you just tell me, “Come next to me if you feel like” ,when I want to go down alone, WITHOUT  Kabir, you read a book for him.”

Wow!!!!  Children have far far far better understanding of abstract concepts like “space” . Better than what we give them credit for. 

Leave a comment